Gratitude 

A big part of recovering from any illness is being able to see clearly, that you are surrounded by so many things to be grateful for. I was blind to this for so long, I became so self-focuses and inward thinking that my life became food, exercise, negativity. My life became existence and survival, and even then I wasn’t doing a very good job!

So when I was on Twitter the other day I saw the ‘Gratitude Challenge’ a challenge that lots of people seemed to be taking on in January. This is a 52 week challenge whereby each week you can think about and appreciate or show gratitude to something. 

  
I saw this as the perfect opportunity to truly reflect on what I have to be grateful for that I was blind to for so long. I may not post each week but over the course of 2016 I will be answering to each of these weeks. 

Who would like to join my on this challenge? Why not set up your own blog posts and tag me in them, or comment underneath mine. Have you too been blind for so long, have you had an illness that has taken away your focus on the important things in your life? Or has life simply got in the way meaning you haven’t been able to stop and think about all of these important things? 

So here goes…

Week 1: Why start this challenge?

It’s important to be able to appreciate what you have in your life, I personally lost sight of this but I’m finally reconnecting with everyone and everything around me so I saw this as an opportunity to spend half an hour each week refocusing and showing my gratitude to the things that make up the most important parts of my life.

  
Week 2: Spouse or significant other

I have been with my boyfriend now for almost 5 years and he has been amazing. He has seen me at my very worst on many occasions yet he has stood by me throughout. Through my hospital admission he was there most evenings and made sure that I had a visitor every day. He has been there through the tears, the tantrums, the depression and anxiety attacks and he has never judged me. I am truly grateful to him for still being with me and I know that most men wouldn’t have stuck around in the circumstances. He has been there for me in any way he can. It hasn’t been easy but I could rely on him to be there whenever I need him. One of the nicest things for me through recovery was to be able to see how he changed as I got better. It was nice to become a real girlfriend again and begin to give back. 

I could go on and on about how grateful I am to my significant other but actions speak louder than words. Another part of why I am doing this challenge and looking at what’s in my life is also to take part in some small act of kindness to show how grateful I am. These only need to be very small but they will show I care.

So what am I going to do for my boyfriend that shows my gratitude for him?

I think a cup of tea in bed every morning is just the ticket!

Thank you for reading and I hope to see some of you joining in the challenge.

M x

Leave a Reply

