Gratitude Challenge – My Week 3 & 4

   
Week 3 

Family
Too many people take their family for granted, and I’m sure we are all guilty of this at some stage or another. We take for granted that our family will always be there and we forget to focus on and cherish the little things. I’m proud to say that I don’t take my family for granted anymore. Whether it’s because I’m older now or from what we have been through together I am not sure. From the gratitude list Family would be what I for one am most grateful for. My family have been through a very tough time the last few years but we got through it, we got through it because we had each other. 

The most important thing that gratitude can teach us is to focus on what we have, not what our life lacks. I have an amazing family, not only are they my relations, but they are my friends, my support network and a comfort. 

So how am I going to show my family how grateful I am to have them around? Keeping it simple and telling them. 

Week 4 

Family member:                                              So week 3 was gratitude for your family and week 4 leads on from this by a specific family member. That’s a tough one as I can’t possible choose just one, but I am sure over the course of this 52 week challenge I will get to cover them all.

I will start here with my sister. She is one amazing person. Not only is she there for me with advice and guidance, a place I can pop to for a coffee and a chat whenever I need, the general sisterly duties. But she has been so much more. My sister was the first person I trusted and turned to when I was suffering with anorexia. I knew she probably suspected long before I admitted it myself but I opened up to her first because I knew out of everyone she would ‘understand’ or if she didn’t understand she would still know what to say and what to do.

It was with her encouragement that I went into hospital because she told me that in the end everything would be OK, she promised and for some reason when my sister promises I know it’s going to be ok. My sister was the one who took me into hospital and made it that little bit easier. I still believe that if I hadn’t had her support then I would have been resistant to being admitted into hospital and this would have put me in a very difficult situation. I know it would have taken a section to get me there but she gave me the gentle push I needed. I know that at the time she felt guilty for taking me there, but it’s the best thing anyone has done for me because it made me get the help I needed. 

My sister is amazing and she is my best friend, I couldn’t imagine my life without her and I couldn’t be anymore grateful to her, what she has done for me, all of the advice and cuddles she has given me, she has been my support when I have needed her most. She has been stronger than she should ever have to be for me and my family, and now that I am well again I hope that I can be there for her just as much.

Oh and I am also very grateful that she has given me two gorgeous nephews 🙂

A true sign of gratitude is becoming emotional when you think about what you have and my eyes are welling up just writing this. I love you sis, if you ever were to read this, I couldn’t have done it without you. I can’t thank you enough but I am grateful every single day for what you have done for me.
M x

Leave a Reply

